Instagram Week: Day 1

It’s Instagram week! For the next week I’m going to be talking ONLY about Instagram, because there is A LOT to talk about. I’m not quite sure why it’s taken me so long to talk about Instagram. Perhaps since it plays such a big role in the world of iPhone photography, it has seemed like a daunting task. But the time has come. INSTAGRAM. (And it’s free!)

Today will be a meet and greet. Here we go…

I’m fairly new to the Instagram app, but it’s been around for about a year and a half now, which is basically forever in app years. I would describe it as a social media platform where users can upload a photo to their feed. That’s pretty much the gist of it. Now, before you upload the photo to the your feed, you can choose from 11 different “vintage” filters, use a geotag location, and have the photo simulaniously uploaded to your Facebook, Twitter, Email, Tumblr, Foursquare, and Posterous. You can also use hashtags to describe what’s in your photo (#trees and #clouds are my personal favorite). You can also “like” other people’s photos.

One a personal note, I have really had a lot of fun with this app. To be completely honest, it’s what sparked my newfangled passion for iPhone photography. I feel like I’ve developed my own personal style, and it’s cool to see what others are doing and learning different techniques and filters. It makes me feel like a real artist. Sort of. So, it’s pretty simple and easy to use. Here’s a look at my profile page. If you’re following along at home, my handle is @youlittlebeauty.

 

Later this week: Instagram Filters, the “Popular” page, Geotagging, Liking and Commenting, and the Instagram blog. In the meantime, what’s your Instagram handle? I want to know! And please, STAY TUNED.

Leave a Reply

