Instagram Week: Day 3

The Popular page! The Instagram’s popular page is confusing, but I’ll do my best to explain it. It’s one of the features on the app that showcases 32 of the most popular photos on Instagram at that very moment. It’s kind of like Twitter’s “Trending Topics”. Here’s what it looks like from my phone:

The confusing part is that it doesn’t seem to have a formula to it. It’s not based on “likes” or views. Here’s what Instagram’s blog says:

In other words, WHAT THE? In order to find out more, I did some research. Apparently I’m not the only one to think, WHAT THE? Chris Smith at appdaptation came up with some rules, which I still don’t quite understand. If anyone has photos that are frequented on the popular page, please let me know how it works. Until then, I will just have to be at peace with the popular page.

To leave you on a positive note, ReadWriteWeb offers 6 effective ways to get more Instagram followers. Good luck!

Tomorrow: Geotagging! Stay tuned.

One response

Leave a Reply

